High Tea: Just Teddy at 1 Fox

IMG_0693

Never would I have thought that Fine China crockery, gold cutlery and zinc shacks belong together, but Just Teddy at 1 Fox is redefining this oxymoron. Their modern spin of a high tea is on par with any five star hotel that I been to (The Oyster Box, The Beverly Hills Hotel & 54 on Bath) and has surpassed my expectation of a casual day out.

As we entered the shed, I was impressed with the table setting which was decked with white table cloths and the finest tableware. It was really eye-catching in the rustic venue and everyone who entered was envious of the two of us. The treats are prepared by Teddy Zaki, a former contestant on the Great South African Bake Off, and his son Jeffrey Zaki. The macarons are made by Teddy’s daughter from Petite Jor.

There is heaps on offer, so do go with an empty tummy. Just Teddy is halaal friendly in the sense that all the food is purchased from halaal suppliers and the there is no contamination when prepared. Alternatively, you can opt for a vegetarian menu, which is equally as delicious.

We started off with mouth-watering sandwiches made from various bread doughs, then moved on to the vegetable quiches and pies, next was scones and lastly (my favourite) the sweet patisseries. The sweet items are so pretty, that I did not want to eat it. The flavours of the cakes are so magical, that you taste essences of lemon, pistachio, rose in one cake. The macarons are just as yummy. High tea is served with a pot of tea and a pink lemonade infused with raspberries and strawberries. You really get value for your money.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I thoroughly enjoyed my day – so much so that I have already booked my seats for their Mother’s Day Vintage High Tea, which includes performance by the Gauteng Opera. (Sadly, I think the event is sold out.) To make a booking, email info@justteddy.co.za or call 082 923 7505. Trust me, you will not regret it.

Leave a comment