Royal Navy

Navy has always been one of my favourite colours. My first pair of All Stars were navy and many of my Eid outfits followed the navy theme. This time, I was inspired to design and sew a navy outfit after seeing pictures of Sheikha Mozah.

She donned a simple yet elegant navy Valentino Couture caped outfit for the inauguration ceremony of the king of Netherlands.

sheikha-mouzah-navy

Sheikha Mozah, is Qatri Royalty – she is the second wife of former Emir of Qatar (Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani) and the mother of His Highness the current Emir, Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani. Further more, she is a royal style icon. As I browse through social media and her fan pages I am amazed by her classic, glamourous and chic fashion sense. Maybe it is due to the fact that this Royal family owns the Valentino brand and in June this year acquired Balmain for approximately 500 million EUROSWhat I also admire about her is that is she always wears a hijab or the trendy turban.

sheikha-mouzah-navy-2

For my look, I opted for a high low skirt (with pockets) in Dutchess satin and paired it with a net bodysuit with lace motives. I prefer Dutchess satin, as it is a heavier fabric but just as glossy as a silk satin. Opposed to Sheikha Mozah’s oufit, I wanted a more casual look and toned down on the jewellery and omitted the cape.

20160912_212316

20160912_212515

To complete the outfit I bought a comfortable pair of patent Brazilian Vizzano shoes with gold studs that I bought from Family Shoe Centre at the Oriental Plaza in Fordsburg.

20160710_111734

Sheikha Mozah’s Instagram account is @mozabintnasser and fan pages that I follow is @sheikhamozah and @sheikamozahfashion.

Sheikha Mozah’s images courtesy of Google

Leave a Reply

