Boxes and Pleats 

This season I’m absolutely in love with the box pleated skirt. So much so that I designed my own unique white and black pleated skirt for Eid-ul-Fitr.

Box and pleats

Box and pleats 2

It took a few attempts to master the skirt as I designed it freehand without a pattern. My mathematics was not adding up in pleat measurements and I also had a small piece of fabric to work with. Alas I eventually got it right. The box skirt can look balloonish… so my tip is to make (or buy) a skirt that has deep pleats as it is more flattering.

Box skirts are quite vintage as the beautiful Audrey Hepburn wore it more than half a century ago. Her style both on and off screen was impeccable and is making a huge comeback. The box pleated skirt, midi skirts and her tomboy (yet feminine) looks are a huge hit. Audrey’s style is visible in the boutique windows today thus making it easy to mimic.

Audrey Hepburn Audrey Hepburn 2

So if you cannot design your own skirt, it is available at Leeya’s in Fordsburg in fabulously bright colours and online at spree.co.za.

Images Courtesy of Hanif, Dollsaga.wordpress.com and Daily Mail UK

Leave a Reply

