Continuous eating in Cape Town

Yummy sushi from Salushi
Yummy sushi from Salushi

I don’t know if you are the same, but when I go to Cape Town I’m always hungry. Can it be the ocean air or is my mind programmed to have an increased appetite as the restaurants there are really fabulous? There’s an array of places to select from, from budget eat-outs to five star culinary meals. Here are some of my fav spots.

I would opt for fish any day as it is always fresher at the coast, unlike in Jozi where we have to wait for it to be shipped. I love going to Snoekies in Hout Bay. It has been labelled as a low budget eat-out with my family, but I can guarantee that you will not be disappointed. If you are not up for the drive to H-Bay, Snoekies have small outlets throughout the city. Apparently Snoekies will be launching in Gauteng soon.  Another favourite is Lucky Fish and we often go to the one in Kalk Bay and in the CBD on Bree Street. There are the more exclusive restaurants such as Beluga and Baia Seafood Restaurant at the V&A Waterfront.

The trip to Cape Town would not be complete without having sushi from Salushi in Claremont – they have mouth-watering sushi and presentation is always picture perfect. On my most recent trip we went to Nuri, a Pakistani run sushi place (Pakinese). They are reasonably priced and it took us a while to order as their menu is quite intense.

Picture perfect sushi at Salushi
Picture perfect sushi at Salushi

I firmly believe that you can have pizza for breakfast and the ideal place to go is Knead. It is a rustic bakery with a vibey atmosphere. It is a pleasure to go to Col’Cacchio as well as we can have the chicken pizzas. The pizzeria is halaal-friendly, but I think everyone is more familiar with halaal catering in Cape Town that it makes it easier to eat there – they even have a separate cutter for the halaal pizzas. So I could finally have a Nacho Libre pizza which was gorgeously tasty. For home deliveries, I would strongly recommend Butlers (they only do deliveries and open from 17:00. The guys dropping the pizzas off dress up in formal black pants and bow ties… so different)

Pizza for breakfast at Knead
Pizza for breakfast at Knead

There are a number of markets in Cape Town (read my previous post on Market Treasures) and the V&A Market on the Wharf at the Waterfront is ideal for an outing. One of the vendors is Woodies Burgers – a definite must try and one of the best halaal burgers I’ve tried.

Woodies offers one of the best halaal burgers in town
Woodies offers one of the best halaal burgers in town

The Indian restaurants are also a huge hit and attract a diverse range of patrons and international visitors. The food is duh cheap and the variety available is unbelievable. We went to Eastern Food Bazaar and Food Inn. Food Inn is open 24/7 and when I entered Eastern Food Bazaar, it felt as if I was transported to Marrakesh.

A tray of food at Food Inn
A tray of food at Food Inn
I am transported to Marrakesh at Eastern Food Bazaar
I am transported to Marrakesh at Eastern Food Bazaar

The halaal restaurants are also pretty good and one is spoilt for choice. This is something that we lack in Jozi as it is difficult to find a halaal venue that is not a franchise or authentic Indian or Pakistani. A few great ones to go to in Cape Town is La Rocca at Canal Walk, The Lounge in Kromboom Road, Rondebosch East, the train-like restaurant in Sea Point Atlantic Express and Bibi’s Kitchen in Wynberg. I have not eaten at Truffle yet, but it is definitely on my list the next time I am in the Mother City. For fast food joints similar to an Akhalwaya’s I would suggest Cosy Corner and Wembley.

Of course, I need dessert to finish or start any meal and my spots to stop at for ice-cream is Gelato Mania in Green Point and The Creamery and then Cocoa Oola for decadent desserts, cakes and yummy smoothies.

I can linger on this topic for another page, but I will not do justice to all the places. Where are some of your favourite eateries?  I am open to try new places to have yummy fooding experiences and create new memories.

2 thoughts on “Continuous eating in Cape Town

  1. Texies on the Grand Parade is an iconic Cape Town Fish and Chips brand. Now serving theoughout the cape with 8 branches serving the best Fish and Chips money can buy.

Leave a Reply

