Market Treasures

African Print dress

I love going to markets, fairs and festivals. I enjoy strolling through the aisles and seeing the fresh produce that people grow or the amazing goods that they produce. One of my favourite markets in Cape Town is the Gatesville Market, especially on a Saturday morning. The items on offer depict local talent ranging from delicious food, fresh vegetables, baking utensils to catwalk-like clothing and daily essentials.

The women are really talented and sew absolutely stunning garments at the most reasonable prices. Their clothing are of an excellent quality, beautifully crafted and the market is their means to exhibit their designs. If in another universe, it could be that I am at a fashion show and each lady is exhibiting their latest season of clothing (in their little stand).

Gatesville Market.

The last time I went, I bought this beautiful African print dress. It is a dungaree style dress with a blue and white circular pattern. The dress has hidden pockets on either side, which is an added feature. When I wore the dress, I paired it with a plain white tee and brown wedge sandals.

African Print dress 2

Aldo sandals

At the market, I also bought a number of printed tights, shirts and dresses – you can spend thousands at the market. As a Jozi girl, the items of clothing are different to what I find at home and I am always looking for something unique to wear. For my sister on the other hand, who stays in Cape Town, she prefers to select the items of clothing she purchases as people fully support these stalls and she doesn’t want to blend in.

My trip to the Gatesville Market would not be complete without buying crayfish curry, some meebos & peanut clusters. If you do go, you have to stop at these stands. Other markets that I love going to in Cape Town is The Old Biscuit Mill in Woodstock and the Hout Bay market, which is located in an old fish factory.

Crayfish Curry

 

Dress: Gatesville Market  l  Shoes: Aldo

3 thoughts on “Market Treasures

Leave a Reply

